Boston Map Society

The home for map lovers in Boston and New England

Andrew Rhodes on James Monteith: Cartographer, Educator, and Master of the Margins

Sep 9, 2021 · 7:00 pm

James Monteith: Cartographer, Educator, and Master of the Margins

Thursday 9 September 2021 (Sponsored in partnership with the Boston, California, Chicago, New York, Philip Lee Phillips, Rocky Mountain, and Texas Map Societies)

Location: Zoom, 7:00 PM ET/6:00 PM CT/ 5:00 PM MT/4:00 PM PT

Speaker: Andrew J. Rhodes, member of Washington Map Society Board of Directors and author of an article on Monteith in the latest issue of Cartographic Perspectives.

Summary: James Monteith (1831–1890) was a leading figure in American geography education in the late nineteenth century, but his career has been largely forgotten and his contribution to cartography has been underappreciated. His geography volumes included unique illustrations to help the reader visualize terrain on a continental scale and place individual maps in a global context. Monteith’s maps were surrounded with remarkable symbology and amplifying data that ought perhaps to earn him the title “master of the margins.”

Bio: Andrew Rhodes earned a BA in political science from Davidson College, an MA in international relations from The Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies, a certificate in Geographic Information Sciences from the University of North Dakota, and graduated with highest distinction from the U.S. Naval War College. He is a member of the WMS Board of Directors.


Register in advance for this meeting:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJIsc--hqTwjEtdqXpY-m9-Xj8WXaHkf11xG

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.